Vice-Presidency, Symposium, Vice-Presidential Duties


This transcript is part of the published proceedings of a symposium convened by the American Bar Association’s Special Committee on Election Reform, which the ABA formed in 1973 and was chaired by John D. Feerick. The symposium took place at Fordham Law School on December 3, 1976. It occurred in the wake of the Watergate era, which saw the resignation of one vice president, the appointment of two vice presidents pursuant to the Twenty-Fifth Amendment’s Section 2, and a vice president’s succession to the presidency. The symposium’s purpose was to assemble experts on the vice-presidency to develop reform proposals related to the office.

In this segment, the panelists field questions from journalists and discuss the vice president’s duties and functions, especially whether they should be expanded. The following panelists participated in the discussion:

  1. John D. Feerick, Chairman of the ABA Special Committee on Election Reform
  2. Daniel L. Golden, Member of the ABA Special Committee on Election Reform
  3. Joel Goldstein, Rhodes Scholar at Oxford
  4. Robert Griffin, U.S. Senator from Michigan
  5. Ira Jackson, Assistant Dean of the John F. Kennedy School of Government and co-author of Kennedy School’s Institute of Politics Report on vice presidential selection
  6. Charles H. Kirbo, Adviser to President Jimmy Carter
  7. James C. Kirby, Professor at New York University Law School and former general counsel to the Senate Subcommittee on Constitutional Amendments
  8. Clarence M. Mitchell, Director of the NAACP’s Washington Office
  9. Endicott Peabody, Former Governor or Massachusetts and Member of the Humphrey Commission on Vice Presidential Selection
  10. George Reedy, Dean of Marquette University College of Journalism and former aide to President Lyndon B. Johnson
  11. Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., Professor at the City University of New York and author of “The Imperial Presidency”
  12. Margaret Chase Smith, former U.S. Senator from Maine
  13. William B. Spann, Jr., President-elect of the ABA
  14. Donald Young, Senior Editor for American History and Political Science at Encyclopedia Americana

Included in

Law Commons